News List

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
To view news for your school only, select your school from the department pull down menu

Braxmeyer Named Kansas Master Teacher

Post Date:02/26/2019

Dedra Braxmeyer

Manhattan-Ogden USD 383 is pleased to announce Dedra Braxmeyer has been named a 2019 Kansas Master Teacher.  Mrs. Braxmeyer teaches math at Manhattan High School.

Mrs. Braxmeyer earned a B.A. in Mathematics and a B.S. in Secondary Education (Mathematics and Computer Science) from Kansas State University in 1999. She then earned an M.S in Education (Instructional Technology) from Peru State College in 2001. She has taught at Manhattan High School since 2006. She started her career as a math teacher at Papillion-LaVista High School in Papillion, NE.



 Members of 2019 Kansas Master Teacher Class:

  • Paula Barr, Second-Grade Teacher at Quail Run Elementary School in USD 497 Lawrence
  • Dedra Braxmeyer, Mathematics Teacher at Manhattan High School in USD 383 Manhattan-Ogden
  • Laura Gaughan, Elementary Reading Specialist at O’Loughlin Elementary School in USD 489 Hays
  • Michelle Hilliard, Mathematics Teacher at Complete High School in USD 266 Maize
  • Lisa Jarvis, English Language Arts Teacher at Council Grove Junior-Senior High School in USD 417 Morris County
  • Carolynn Phalen, First-Grade Teacher at Grace E. Stewart Elementary School in USD 305 Salina
  • Linda Vena, Elementary Reading Specialist at Mission Trail Elementary School in USD 229 Blue Valley

The 2019 Master Teachers will be honored on Master Teacher Day to be held Wednesday, April 3 at Emporia State University. On that day, as part of several recognition activities, the teachers will present a seminar at 2:30 p.m. in the W.S. and E.C. Jones Conference Center in Visser Hall. The teachers will then be honored during a social hour at 5:45 p.m. in Webb Hall Lobby of Emporia State’s Memorial Union followed by the banquet and award ceremony at 6:30 p.m. in Webb Hall.

Emporia State established the Kansas Master Teacher awards in 1954. The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well, who also typify the outstanding qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers. Information on the 65 years of educators named Kansas Master Teachers is available at

Return to full list >>